Skip to content

It’s Crunch Time

May 10, 2010

…on so many levels.

1.  Tomorrow begins my 5 days of finals. I’m beginning to think these next five days are actually going to be better than the past five days because at least I’m actually taking the tests and crossing them off one by one! Lucky for me, the tests go in order from hardest to easier (notice: I never say easy), so I get the painful two (Operations Management and Marketing Research) over first! I’m thankful for that.

2.  It’s also crunch time because as of today there is officially two months until my sisters wedding! In these two months I need to write my speech, finish the centerpieces, finalize the Bachelorette party, figure out what I want to do with my hair and feel good in my dress. Oh, and most importantly, keep Kelly calm : )

I don’t really know anything about being maid-of-honor. I’ve only been to one wedding (that I really remember) and I barely new the couple, so I wasn’t very involved haha. I was reading up on my responsibilities online and one site said I was supposed to “make sure the bride doesn’t drink too much”. Ha! If that’s my hardest job this is going to be a piece of cake (yum, cake).

3. Last night, I packed up the majority of my room (clearly wishful thinking), now I’m ready for someone to come pick me up! Oh, I still have to take all my finals? Oh.. shit..

4. I officially have less than THREE weeks until the half-marathon! Where did the time go!? I’m ready. I know I am. But I’m still not COMPLETELY sure I’m running it haha. How does that makes sense if I’m ready? Well I know I’m ready and I know the majority of my body is ready. I’m just still being cautious with my leg. But if yesterday’s seven miler was any indication, I’d say the half-marathon is looking good!

I was reading up about tapering for a half-marathon, and the results were mixed. It seemed like the general consensus was that if you are using this as a training run, then there is no need to taper. But if you’re hoping to peak performance during the race than a taper is recommended (of somewhere between one to two weeks). I would like to do the later (obviously..), but now that my training has been all messed up from injury I feel like the past month has been a taper haha. I was planning on slowing it down for the last week before it, and still am, but I don’t think I want to slow down before that because of all the time I’ve had to take off. Thoughts on this?

Have you ever run a half-marathon? Were you running for training/fun or for performance? Did you taper? If so, how much/long?

DAYS!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 10:40 AM

    I think some taper for every race is good – I like to give my body a little break and rest before the big day. I’m not sure what the training plans say, but I always take the two days before the race off completely and also decrease my mileage the week before the race. I’ve never really tapered for a half marathon because I’ve used them as training runs, but I did always take the 1-2 days before them off completely.

  2. May 10, 2010 10:43 AM

    Technically, my training for a half starts this week! (although it’s not much different than my regular routine for the next two weeks or so)

    Good luck with finals… I didn’t know you were taking Marketing Research. I hated that class with a passion. Like a SERIOUS passion. Numbers and I don’t get along…

  3. May 10, 2010 10:44 AM

    i’ve done a 7 day taper for halfs before. but i really really hate to taper so sometimes it’s really just a run easy 2 days before deal hah! even when i’ve wanted to really race them

    good luck with all the upcoming stuff in your life. it’s totally crunch time!

  4. May 10, 2010 11:14 AM

    I took the entire week off before my Half Marathon 2 weeks ago. I was really nervous about it, but it was so helpful. My body felt well rested and ready to go on race day!

  5. May 10, 2010 2:10 PM

    good luck with your finals!!

    i wrote my speech at my sister’s wedding in my head as i was saying it aloud!! not the best idea but just remember that everyone there is your family and friends so it will be fine!!

    if i am running a half marathon as part of training i do not taper and usually i will do a nice long cool down to get in the extra miles (if needed) and to prevent any soreness.

    good luck with all things!

  6. May 10, 2010 3:25 PM

    Personally, I’ve never run a half-marathon before. But when I was training for a 10k, I tapered a good few days beforehand and my legs felt so fresh and ready for the race. I’m pretty sure that the longer the race, the longer you need to taper, but I could be totally wrong on this.

    Sorry…I’m not being helpful at all. ;)

    It sounds like you’re well prepared for the half so far though…you’ll do great! :D

  7. May 10, 2010 7:03 PM

    Hahaha you never know I might decide to become a lush on July 10th!

  8. May 11, 2010 3:46 PM

    I’m in the same boat. My race is in two weeks and I I’m just getting back on board with my training plan after my sabatical. If I do a taper, it won’t be much of one. Good luck!

  9. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    May 11, 2010 4:33 PM

    I wish I was better about actually *training* for races rather than just going out and doing them like it’s any other run. You have a lot going on; it’s so helpful to put it into list format. Wedding plans? I’m excited to hear about them! oh how I love weddings; it’s sad really

  10. May 11, 2010 5:36 PM

    We tapered one week for our last half, but we ran it for fun, so I picked training back up with a 10 miler last week and will with a full schedule this week.

    Good luck with finals!

  11. femmefraiche permalink
    May 11, 2010 6:42 PM

    I’ve always been told that it’s best to taper a week before your race. I ran 17 miles in Hood To Coast last year (a 197 mile relay race) but have never run further than a 10K without stopping. I’m planning on training for a half marathon in the late summer or early fall. Hopefully I’ll be able to pick up on some training tips!

  12. May 12, 2010 6:22 AM

    I usually taper for a week leading up to a 1/2. I know some people taper for longer.

  13. May 15, 2010 9:46 AM

    You’ve got so many fun events coming up!! Good for you. And yes, the sister’s wedding is stressful, but boy will it be a GREAT time! haha, I always tell Nick that he has to make sure I don’t drink too much when we get married…she’s lucky she has you to help her out :)

    I’m not a big runner so I’ve never done any big running events. I can’t help :( Either way, you’re going to do GREAT!

    Have a fabulous weekend.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

