Skip to content

Spring Training Plan

February 4, 2010
tags:

After two hours of hard work in my Marketing Research class (really boring class, computer is necessary for survival), I have finally completed version one of my Spring Training Plan! Just the sound of it makes me happy. It means spring is coming and it kind of sounds like I’m a member of the Red Sox : )  I can dream.

The biggest problem now is how to share it with you guys haha. Here it is in .doc form: Half Training

And here is my best attempt to paste it in this post:

Okay so you guys can pretty much read that right? My twelve week half-marathon training does not officially start until March 8th, so basically I’m using February as a way to build up some base mileage and mix it up with some biking, elliptical and strength training.

For my half-marathon plan I used a combination of a bunch of different plans and kind of made it up as I go along. This is my first time really doing this so if you see any problems with it definitely let me know. I’m pretty sure I’ll be making changes, which is why I referred to this as version one : )

The 26th is in red because this is the “official start” of my triathlon training, however as you can see in May.. I don’t really focus on it until the half is over.


So there it is.. props to you if you actually went through it all haha. I welcome questions, concerns, thoughts, critiques, etc. Have you ever ran a half-marathon? What was the longest run you did during training? Did you have a time goal? How did you go about reaching that time goal?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    February 4, 2010 9:12 AM

    Your training plan looks good! I always like to see when people do the “long run.” Mine are on Saturdays. When I was training for my half, the longest run I did was 13 miles (but I don’t think that’s necessary). I said to myself I didn’t have a goal but secretly I wanted to finish in under 2 hours. Success :D

  2. February 4, 2010 9:34 AM

    Damn. Very detailed training plan! I like it. Way to be so focused :)

  3. February 4, 2010 9:39 AM

    My only comment is; good for you for scheduling swimming the day after you sisters bachelorette party! I’m usually WAY TO hungover after those kinds of things to even fathom exercise! Haha

    But overall I think your plan looks really good and you’ll be totally successful with it! Good job!

    • February 4, 2010 9:49 AM

      haha hmm.. you’re right I may have to rethink that!

      • February 4, 2010 10:37 AM

        UM YES. I agree.

      • February 4, 2010 2:20 PM

        However.. for a girl that can’t nap, I do think exercise is the best cure for a hangover : )

  4. February 4, 2010 9:50 AM

    Looks like a great training plan. I too am a training plan girl! It really helps me stay on track. I ran my first half marathon two weekends ago and it was a great race. It’s a distance that is hard, but not unbearable. My longest run before the race was around 10 miles – I probably should have run longer, but it was soo darn cold. Goodluck with your training!

  5. February 4, 2010 10:02 AM

    It looks good! I don’t focus too much on speed training, but that’s just me. I try to throw some in there here and there. You could also throw in 1 swim once a week, instead of something else if you want to start conditioning for tri season! :) Just an idea. Good luck!

  6. February 4, 2010 10:23 AM

    for my first half my longest run as 13.5 or something around there and then for my 2nd one i had planned 14 but got lost and ended up with 18!! definitely not advisable :)

    for my first i had a time goal of < 2 hrs (and smashed it with 1:47) so i tended to stick one day of speed training in there, alternating between tempo and mile repeats. i think the tempos though are more important than the repeats.

    good luck! and i like the way youre focusing more on xt now. very smart :)

  7. February 4, 2010 10:39 AM

    That looks like a good plan. My only concern is going to be very older sistery, but here it goes. I think you need a few more rest days. There are times in that plan where you go weeks without a rest and then in June you schedule them every week…is there a reason for that? I think the plan of one day off per week is a really good one to keep you from getting sick or injured.

    • February 4, 2010 2:18 PM

      The reason May and June have more rest days is because in May I’m putting in higher mileage on my long runs and scheduling a rest day will force me to actually take it. In June, I plan to be working 40 hour weeks and if its anything like last summer, I know I’m going to need a break!
      As for February, March and April, this looks pretty similar to my normal routine. I don’t like scheduling rest days because I never know when I’m going to need them. They tend to happen every week or so naturally do to traveling to and from school, feeling sick one morning, having to cram for an exam, or its down pouring outside and I can’t find my umbrella haha
      I appreciate your sisterly concern : )

  8. February 4, 2010 6:47 PM

    That looks like a good plan! We ran a half last year. Our longest run was 12 miles. Our goal was to get in under 2 hours. We didn’t even really train with a watch (didn’t know how to use our Garmin) but finished in 1:57:47. I think your first should just be fun! :)

  9. February 7, 2010 7:12 PM

    Looks good! I love seeing others’ training plans and incorporating new ideas into mine. I have taken to track interval workouts as a way to increase the speed since I have a good time to work towards. I, too, have been using the past weeks and upcoming month to establish a base mileage and then increase/tweak my training runs to see what I need work in. Congrats on finishing it!

  10. February 11, 2010 12:38 AM

    Hey there Caroline!
    Just got your comment. I just finished my first half marathon in January only running 3 days a week, and I finished in my goal time of 2:05! I kind of just blended a few plans that I found online and made it doable for me. Realistically, I can’t run more than 3 days a week, so why have a training plan that tells me to run 5?! You know what I mean! I made sure to do 1 day of speed training, 1 long run, and 1 tempo run. Then I fit in cross training (mostly kickboxing) on days that I had an hour or so free. Mostly 1 or 2 days a week. You can go ahead and email me at kellynaka433@yahoo.com and I can email my prior plan to you, or I may even post it on my blog tomorrow! The longest run I did was a little over 12, but if I remember correctly, you are running 15 before! So I’m sure that you will be more than prepared! Good luck! I will be following your training and rooting for you! Take care.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

