Skip to content


February 2, 2010

Last night, I was lucky enough to get to go to the Beanpot to root on my school’s hockey team. For those of you who aren’t from the area, the Beanpot is basically a tournament where Boston’s four major college hockey schools (Boston College, Boston University, Harvard and Northeastern) come together and duel it out. The tournament began in 1952 and has since become Boston hockey’s big event of the season, providing bragging rights to that year’s winner over its town rivals. You all probably know already that I love hockey so this was an exciting and fun night. Boston College ended up beating Harvard 6-0 (woohoo!) and move on to play big rival Boston University in the finals next week.

This brings me to today’s topic: Changes. I’ve now officially (as of yesterday) kept this blog rolling for three months! Obviously for you blogger pros out there that does not feel like a long time, but for me it is. I’m typically not much of a “sharer” and I’m not the greatest writer so I really never thought this would become something I would keep up with. However, from day one I was instantly hooked. I just love the blogging community and I’ve learned so much in these past three months, so thanks guys!

Now that I know I’m going to be keeping up with this blog I wanted to make a little more organization and focus to the blog. When I first started I didn’t really know what I wanted to write about and was just all over the place but now I have a better idea of my blog’s purpose. I want to really focus in on fitness and health, with more workouts, recipes, interesting health/sporty articles, etc. I’m working on adding two new tabs: Workouts and Training. Hopefully these will be set and done by the end of the week. In addition, for more organization to my blog I wanted to add themed days: “New Workout Wednesdays” (where I obviously share a new work out I’ve found somewhere or just tried) and “Saturdays with the Sox”. I’m a big Red Sox fan and spring training is just around the corner and I think I want to try to incorporate a little big of baseball into my blog : ) I know you all aren’t from Boston or Red Sox fans but I hope to somehow connect it to everyone.

Most of these changes are small and you probably won’t even notice the difference but I think the change, for me, is good because it will keep blogging exciting and hopefully I can avoid future ruts like I’ve been having lately! Besides the blog, I also wanted to make some changes to my life through some February goals! Yay! Here they are:

  1. Floss every night. Studies have indicated that only 12% of the United States population floss their teeth daily. However, flossing can significantly reduce the risk of a heart attack! I don’t know about you but I’m sold.
  2. Try to go to yoga twice a week. With the flexible schedule of a college student (that I am going to miss more than anything when I graduate), this shouldn’t be too hard to accomplish. Right now I have yoga scheduled in on Tuesdays and Fridays with the option of going Saturdays and Sundays if I feel so inclined : )
  3. Be more conscious of my portion sizes. I have a real issue with this. I can’t remember the last time I didn’t clear my plate. My solution to this? Fill my plate less. How am I going to do this? Eat more small meals in a day by bringing snacks to work and classes. I find that on days when I don’t bring a snack, I am starving for lunch and usually end up giving myself more generous portions.
  4. Listen to my body. I mentioned the other day that I eat things sometimes knowing it won’t make me feel well (for example: ice cream). I want to do less of this, obviously no one likes not feeling well. I want to make sure everything I put into my body will make me healthier, stronger and most importantly happier!

Alright. For a girl who doesn’t like change I think that’s enough change for one day! What are you going to try to change this February?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 4:40 PM

    Obviously I love the Saturdays with the SOX idea :) And new workout Wednesdays-very cool. I should do some themes like this on my blog, I have to think of some though haha.
    Great jobs for February. I’m taking a bit of a break from major goals (well, the ice cream one is pretty major) but I do SERIOUSLY need to work on the flossing thing. I’ll be awesome for like a week, then go to every other day, then every 3, then once a week, then realize AH and start over with every day. I don’t understand what my problem is, I would never go to bed without brushing my teeth, why can’t flossing be like that?

  2. Danielle permalink
    February 2, 2010 5:57 PM

    Looking forward to the changes! I’ve had my blog for only 3 months too and it seems like a really long time!

    I didn’t know flossing could reduce your risk for a heart attack?! Not that I think I’m really at risk lol

  3. February 2, 2010 6:01 PM

    Great goals! (and the Beanpot sounds like fun!)

  4. February 2, 2010 6:41 PM

    great goals and i think that they all apply to me too. i totally need to get back into flossing every night. it’s just soo easy to skip and my friends and i had a really lengthy convo about this over lunch today! how coincidental!

    and i’m looking forward to the changes youll be making in the blog. i think they’re great ideas and topic that will be really fun to read! i’ve definitely been getting a vibe lately of you focusing on total health and fitness. rock on :)

  5. February 2, 2010 7:38 PM

    I’m glad you enjoyed my post about fructose intolerance!
    I like your February goals, a lot. I did the flossing challenge a couple months ago and it sort of stuck with me. I’m now flossing at least twice a week, which is 2 times more than before!
    I also think it’s good to have that “intuitive eating” goal, and to think about the things you put int your mouth. Obviously it’s not good to take it to extremes, but thinking about it helps. I am working on eating when I am hungry, and NOT when I’m not, especially at night :)

  6. February 2, 2010 8:01 PM

    Yay for February goals! I am assuming you already saw my goals! :)

  7. February 2, 2010 8:49 PM

    You have some nice February goals! I suppose mine would be to get to sleep earlier and get my workouts done before everyone wakes up, to cook more ( I love it but rarely have time), to improve my long run distance .

  8. February 2, 2010 10:33 PM

    Great goals and CONGRATS on making it 3 months! I have been enjoying your blog so keep it up!

  9. February 3, 2010 12:16 AM

    I love your blog and so glad you’re still blogging and LOVING it after 3 months! Looking forward to your new features :-)

  10. February 3, 2010 7:53 AM

    yeah I like baseball! I’m up for some Red Sox incorporating


  1. Workout Wednesdays! «

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

